My sister, my friend

Sometimes I just don’t understand the choices that people make. It’s a paradox to me how two people raised exactly the same can turn out so differently. Completely and totally different. Definitely adds to the nature versus nurture debate that has been going on for decades, a century maybe? I don’t understand how someone can make a choice based solely on their own behalf, without consideration to the consequences the decision may have on other people. Especially people so vulnerable and so new to life that their own small environment still holds so much adventure and discovery… Choices that are made out of selfishness and self-centeredness. Choices that form a wall between the very people who brought you into this world, as crazy and cruel it may be. All for just one high, one buzz. One short span of a seemly good time. One that pulls a person further and further down, without them being even remotely aware of what is happening to them. Knowing her has been one of the greatest blessings in my life… and being her sister has been even greater. I’m at a point now that not only her well-being, but the well-being of people that I care just as much for is a stake. I know with my entire being that my sweet Father brought me out, of home and my own pit, for a reason… and it’s with a deep desire that it has been for her. To help her. To show her love in the most extravagant form. That I will not have to give up on her in the end, for the sake of my others. She has one of the biggest parts of my heart, one that forces me to believe she was meant for something better than this. Please pray that she comes to find this. To find her Jesus and His steadfast love for and faithfulness toward her. She is meant for more than this. For something greater and more beautiful than she could ever dream.

Leave a Reply

