30-Day Blog Challenge: Day Twenty

Day TWENTY

How important you think education is?

Ask me? Education is incredibly important. Education contributes (in typical cases…) to one’s advancement in society and can contribute to a more positive self-esteem. Education can give a person a sense of self within society. I was educated to become a social worker. My husband is being educated to become part of a management team in the business world.

But, ask my husband how important he thinks education is? Education is flat. out. stupid. and a big. waste. of. time. At least in the formal sense, that is. (He’s been at Jacksonville consistently since Fall 2004, and is FINALLY graduating August 5th! He has a little resentment toward any higher education institution right now… Even though he is the one that changed his major four different times.)

Back to the original subject of education…

For me, being able to call myself a graduate from both Albertville High School and Jacksonville State University is not only a privilege, but a blessing. I may not have had the best teachers or the best buildings (God only knows how AHS stood for 100+ years before the city finally decided it might pose a slight hazard to its students…); but if it weren’t for the education I have received from the teachers who chose to teach me and for the funds that were put into the school systems I went through to provide a place to be educated, I probably wouldn’t be in the place I am today. I wouldn’t have met the people and learned the life lessons I have gained in order to call myself a somewhat stable adult in this world. I could easily be in an entirely different place in life with entirely different dreams, goals, and ideals. In a sense, my education contributed to the person I have become today. And I value that. Greatly.

However, school systems and universities are in no way the only sources to provide education. As my dear husband (or DH) likes to phrase it: School has done nothing for me but made me lose my hair. He feels that he has gained more education though basic life experience and in the workforce. Typical guy… I know. But my question to him is how did he learn to function in the workforce, in society, without being taught how to function amidst other people? To cooperate. To contribute. But that’s probably an argument better saved until after he’s released from the snares of Jacksonville State University. At least a year. Maybe two… This boy has one serious grudge.

I know one day he’ll regard his time at JSU as a blessing… He just needs a break first.

It is also nice to know people can make it without a college education. My mother is the perfect example. She graduated high school, but wasn’t given the privilege of going to college. However, she made it in the business world by climbing the ladder at where she currently works. She didn’t allow where she came from or her “lack of higher education” defeat her from working her way to the position she is currently in now. She used her life experience and workforce knowledge to climb the ladder. And completely she kicks butt at what she does.

I praise God, though, that she did encourage me and grant me the privilege of receiving my college degree. She knew how an education would benefit me in this dog-eat-dog world. And never allowed me to give up. Even when I called her crying my eyes out because “I’m not going to make it through this semester.” She never gave up on me. She probably deserves that degree more than I do. At least half.

But what goes around comes around. Throughout the past few years, I’ve had to be Matthew’s own personal cheerleader.

Now we’re walking the stage!

Leave a Reply

