Refashion Fail No. 2

I have come to find I have a serious knack for making things a little more difficult than they should be.

Remember these?

DSC_0001-2

They’re the bottom from Elisha’s last refashioned Baseball tee. {The post is found here.}

As I said, I planned on making these into a pair of leg warmers (aka baby legs) for Shiloh. And as of right now, I have failed. Pretty epically. They’re leg warmers?!

Here’s how it went down:

First, I snipped the buttons from the legs and then the legs from the crotch of the pants. Then, I measured and marked 3 1/2 inches across each leg from the bottom to the top. I took the measurements from a pair of pants that fit Shiloh well.

DSC_0003-2

DSC_0007-2

I pinned at my marks and cut the excess fabric off each leg.

DSC_0008-2

DSC_0011-2

Why hello there, handy helper.

I sewed a straight stitch up each leg. Then I folded, pinned, and hemmed the raw edges at the bottom with first a straight stitch then a zig-zag stitch, which made a cute detail and a slight flare. The cuff at the original end is going to be the top of the leg warmers.

DSC_0076-2

DSC_0078-2

Ta-da! Cute leg warmers!! Or so I thought until I tried them on Shiloh…

DSC_0080-2

The “bands” at the top of the warmers were too big and slipped right off her legs. So I decided to only rip out the straight stitch at the top of the warmers to put in some elastic. Insert elastic and sew together. Easy? No. Not much room to work a stitch when you only have 6 inches of elastic to work with. I did the best my beginner’s self could do.

DSC_0089-2

Seriously. You can laugh. Because I did. In part deliriousness and the other in just flat humor at that pathetic stitch.

Then I pinned the openings at the casing together to restitch them back together.

And once again, ta-da! Cute leg warmers for Shiloh! Unnnnntil I then again tried them on Shiloh.

DSC_0090-2

I couldn’t get the band around her leg past the knee… Should have allowed for a few more inches of elastic. Which I had no more of.

At this point, I just wanted to throw them away.

But on I would go though the weather be foul.
On I will go through my enemies prowl.
On I will go though the Hakken-Kraks howl.
Onward up many
a frightening creek,
though my arms may get sore
and my sneakers may leak. {…a little Dr. Seuss there for you}

So in my frustration I just cut off the “casing” right at the serged seam and tried them back on her, which worked a little better…

DSC_0095-2

This is questionable, Mom.

DSC_0100-2

DSC_0107-2

How could anyone NOT love that face. Seriously. Cuteness incarnate.

…for a total of 1.25 minutes.

DSC_0126-2

So any suggestions are welcome, because at this point, I have no idea where to go with this refashion now… Unless I just wait for her legs to get fatter to help them fit better. But then it will be summer. And summers in Alabama are brutal and most folks are walking around in as little amount of clothing as they can get away with. Some just don’t and wear whatever they THINK is okay, which is most certainly NOT okay…

DSC_0127-2

Hope you all have a great Saint Patty’s Day weekend! And watch out for those snippy little leprechauns like myself who pinch those not wearing green. If this helps my cause, Emerald has been dubbed the color for 2013.

One thought on “Refashion Fail No. 2

  1. Pingback: Refashion Fail No. 3 + Cute Baby Mustache | All Glorious

Leave a Reply

