{refashioned} Refashioned Button-Up Skirt

If you have read the earlier post about my refashioned button-up dress skirt made from one of Matthew’s old button-up shirts, you probably found yourself more confused than inspired. Sorry about that, friends…

But not only is it confusing, it’s not the best way to make this skirt. When I tried actually wearing it out in public I couldn’t muster up the courage to do it because I was worried that one of the buttons would come open and expose, well, you know… So it’s just been stuck in my closet. Which is really sad because I LOVE that refashion. So yesterday morning I ripped out all the seams and started over. This tutorial is oh so much simpler than the one before and a whole lot safer.

After I ripped out all those seams I grabbed another old t-shirt, one that was close to the same width as my skirt.

DSC_0339-2

Then, made a big chop at the top of the skirt.

DSC_0343-2

I pinned the right sides of the skirt and t-shirt together and sewed them down.

DSC_0346-2

After the skirt and t-shirt lining were sewn together, I flipped the right side of the skirt outside and the t-shirt lining inside, and sewed another stitch below top seam to make my drawstring casing.

DSC_0351-2

Once the casing was made, I cut two small slits in the front of the casing to insert my drawstring (made from the seams under the arms of the original shirt).

DSC_0353-2

Like I said, much easier to make, much safer to wear. This refashion literally took about 15-20 minutes to make. I’m pretty sure the original post should be titled “How NOT to refashion a button-up dress skirt.”

Here’s a little sneak peek from our Easter weekend festivities so far!

DSC_0406-2

Happy Easter, friends!!

For he grew up before him like a young plant,
and like a root out of dry ground;
he had no form or majesty that we should look at him,
and no beauty that we should desire him.
He was despised and rejected by men;
a man of sorrows,and acquainted with grief;
and as one from whom men hide their faces
he was despised, and we esteemed him not.

Surely he has borne our griefs
and carried our sorrows;
yet we esteemed him stricken,
smitten by God, and afflicted.
But he was pierced for our transgressions;
he was crushed for our iniquities;
upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace,
and with his wounds we are healed.

– Isaiah 53:2-5

10 thoughts on “{refashioned} Refashioned Button-Up Skirt

  1. Pingback: {Refashion} Button-up Dress Skirt | All Glorious

  2. vjstracener

    That looks good. I want to do a dress with some of my husbands old shirts I just haven’t seen an idea that I’ve liked or come up with a good one myself yet

    Reply
  3. Pingback: 5 Ways to Refashion a Men’s Button-Up Shirt | All Glorious

Leave a Reply

