{Refashion} Empire-Waist Onesie Dress

Sorry I have mostly MIA from Refashion World lately. I have been busy mending, taking-in, and hemming a slew of my little family’s clothing. Which reminded me that I never really explained on my blog exactly why I recently decided to start refashioning and thrifting.

My new year’s resolution for 2013:

Waste less. Buy less.

Have you ever thought about just how much a family can waste in a year? Especially when kids are in the mix? WAY. TOO. MUCH. I don’t have the stats, but feel free to look them up yourselves and be amazed (and possibly disgusted). How many of us throw away one garbage bag of trash alone each day? That equals seven bags of garbage a week. Thirty to thirty-one bags a month. Three hundred and sixty-five to sixty-six a year. FOR ONE FAMILY. Multiply that by five to include four other families you know. That would be one thousand and thirty bags. FOR ONLY FIVE FAMILIES (that is, if we only threw one bag of garbage away a day). I know my family can easily toss two bags a day.

I say all this to say my goal for this year is to waste less in order to buy less. Reduce. Reuse. Recycle. Mainly to help out our one-income family budget, but also to somewhat ease the environmental impact my little family alone makes. So here I am four months in and I can honestly say the three Rs aren’t as difficult to do as they may seem. All it takes is one step at a time. I started with hand-me-downs, which transitioned into refashioning. Then I decided to jump on the thrifting boat. One man’s trash is another man’s treasure!

I also love that my husband’s cousins Jenny and Laura (a.k.a. Jennylaura) send me literally garbage bags full of hand-me-downs from their babies. I love you both immensely.

Okay, okay. Off my little soapbox now. I hope you got all that.

Today’s refashion is once again for my baby girl. Why is it easier to refashion baby girls clothing?

Here are the beginning pieces:

DSC_0265-agDSC_0273-ag

I love the little applique ladybug on the skirt of this little dress, but not so much the stains on the top part…

DSC_0272-ag

I decided to chop the skirt portion off the dress and sew it to the pink-trimmed onesie.

DSC_0276-ag

I turned the dress inside out (as you can see above) to cut off the skirt. I left about a 1/2-inch of the top material to sew the skirt to the onesie.

DSC_0277-ag

I left the onesie right-side out and measured 1-inch from the bottom of the armholes where I wanted the skirt to be attached. We meet again yellow dots.

DSC_0281-ag

I flipped the skirt wrong-side-out AND upside-down, first pinning the side stitches together to match, then pinned the entire skirt where I marked my dots.

DSC_0284-agDSC_0289-ag

I sewed the skirt down first with a straight stitch then went back over it with a zig-zag stitch. Make sure to sew the stitches against the original skirt hem to make sure none of the extra top material gets exposed.

DSC_0306-ag

Once the skirt was sewn down, I flipped the skirt back down and ta-da! Empire-waist onesie dress!

DSC_0312-agDSC_0313-ag

I think Shiloh may like it. :)

DSC_0314-ag

DSC_0316-ag

Have you decided to RRR? If so, how so? I need more ideas.

3 thoughts on “{Refashion} Empire-Waist Onesie Dress

  1. cloudsfullofrain

    I recently watched a documentary about No-Impact Man. Have you seen that before? It definitely had me thinking about ways to cut back in several areas. Refashioning clothes is so fun. I just love seeing my daughter run around in clothes I’ve made for her. You did a great job with your refashion!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

