#RealMamaLife {4.22.13}

Okay, best link up project ever, right here:

Real Mama Life over on Le Petit Reve.

I hate the idea of making our lives seems so perfect and uneventful because, let’s face it, the stressful, crazy, messy times are what make our lives as beautiful and memorable as they are. And we might as well embrace it because it’s life. It’s going to happen and it’s going to be messy more often than not…

This project “embrace[s] the glory and humour in the chaos. Un-staged and imperfectly beautiful.” The chaos of our lives, that is, especially as parents. I have thought to myself countless times (after having kids) how the impact of making our lives seem perfect has on other parents who are in the same boat. Think about it… I’m a mom literally struggling with two kids under the age of three, I’m catching up on FB/Twitter/Instagram and see another mom with two young kids of her own and she’s gloriously flaunting her perfectly poised kids in perfect spotless clothes with perfect cheeky smiles, talking about how she simply adores them and how perfectly perfect they are and how she “got lucky” with having the best kids ever, I’m probably going to think to myself either (or both), “What is wrong with my kids?!” or, worse, “What is wrong with me as a mom? Why can’t I make my kids behave/look like that or feel that way about them?” Especially when I know in my heart her kids are holy terrors just as much as mine and she has her moments of parenting doubt herself. Why do we want to make each other feel that way? We should be supporting one another, not trying to make ourselves seem better than other parents. News flash: we as parents all mess up and make mistakes we want to take back, but we all learn from them and how to do better by our children for the future. The cliché of parenting clichés: Kids don’t come with instruction manuals.

Okay, stepping off the mini soap box now… Rants tend to happen from time to time.

So, for my first #realmamalife link up post, I give you my stubborn, terribly two-year-old son on his first day of preschool.

DSC_0253-agDSC_0256-agDSC_0259-ag

He’s not crying because he didn’t want to go. He’s crying because he was ready to go. No time for capturing memories… Time to get away from Mommy and Sister to play with tiny people who are much cooler than we are. Here’s the best one I managed to get, post-tantrum.

DSC_0260-2

I am so looking forward to checking out other #realmamalife posts. Sometimes we all need an ego boost. Or to at least feel like we’re not the only one sinking in the sand.

4 thoughts on “#RealMamaLife {4.22.13}

  1. Misty Reagan

    hey girlie! I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE this! as a step-mom of a 10 and 6 year old, I skipped the baby stage and started with a 4 and 8 year old…I see pictures all the time that I just want to rip in half because they are so perfect…Our photo shoot of like 200 pics ended up with maybe 25 good ones where someone didn’t have a sour look or a booger hanging out of their nose lol. My boy comes home just about every day with his pants unzipped, butt-crack hanging out at least an inch and some kind of remains of his 11am lunch still smeared across his face…I think to myself sometimes “All I needed to do was go to wal-mart without cleaning you up!” haha. I’m sure it’s a lot easier than the toddler phase and I’m hoping to find out soon, but at this age things they know to do, you still have to repeat yourself 100 times a day…Thought I’d give you something to look forward to! Oh…and the wetting the bed, and hiding the pj’s when getting dressed for school, and you finding them after the laundry is done is icing on the cake! Love you! love your blog and I miss your face!

    Reply
    1. taraallglorious Post author

      Oh, joy lol. As I was writing up this post Elisha was spitting in his hands and rubbing them together and on his shirt telling me he was “washing” his hand and his jammies. Shiloh ALWAYS has boogers/dried snot hanging out of her nose. Just not convinced any age is easier than another… :)

      Reply
  2. Selena M.B.

    Love this! What a cute guy – even when he’s wailing. So happy to have you taking part in #reallifemama…I think we’re on to something good here. I can’t wait to see what unravels as we all hunker down on Mondays and get really comfortable with our visual sharing and tales/secrets from the crypt!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

