Refashion Fail No. 3 + Cute Baby Mustache

I’ve delayed this post as long as possible trying to figure out how to remedy this fail. But no such luck, so here’s my refashion fail no. 3.

It all started with these two tops.

DSC_0001-agDSC_0005-ag

If you look closely, you will see a seam running along the back of the long-sleeve blue top. I cut along that back seam to make what was to be my cardigan.

DSC_0002 (2)-ag

Then chopped the top portion off the tank top:

DSC_0006-ag

Figured out what that’s going to be yet?

DSC_0007-ag

Pockets! In my opinion, all cardis should have pockets.

I pinned the pockets to my cardi and stitched them down.

DSC_0008-agDSC_0014-ag

I was oh so pumped about this refashion, until I tried it on…

DSC_0018-agDSC_0024-ag

I guess that’s what happens when you try to make a cardigan from a backward cotton t-shirt. I thought about cutting off the sleeves to make a vest, but I’m almost certain that’s not going to fix the problem. So I’m asking you friends out there for ideas. How would you fix this? It doesn’t necessarily have to stay a cardi, but I do want to keep the pockets.

To thank you in advance for your participation, here’s a cute baby mustache:

DSC_0235-ag

Yep, that happened all its own. I couldn’t have made it if I tried.

The joys of parenthood. :)

9 thoughts on “Refashion Fail No. 3 + Cute Baby Mustache

  1. Megan

    I’m guessing you don’t want to add buttons or hooks or anything like that. What you could try, and I have no idea if this would work or not, but you might be able to get it to hang right if you put long darts under the armholes and tried to get rid of a little of that extra fabric that pulled it back.

    Reply
  2. plhuyoung

    I kind of think it’s really cute! Maybe you could add a little bow or button to keep the pockets from falling to the back? It’s actually kind of a neat idea to cut a long sleeved shirt and make it into a cardigan! I’ll have to try it sometime :)

    Reply
  3. 2Momma2

    I can’t offer much advice because I’m not that handy with refashions, but… Could you do something to extend the back? Take the same pocket material and make a block down the back to bring the rest to the front a bit more? Not sure how this would alter the fit at the sleeves and shoulders but it could be worth a shot. Oh! Maybe a triangle of fabric that extends down to the hips to give more room there?

    Reply
  4. Sarah's Real Life

    Oh man, I am no help. I’m just a shopper, not a sewer! When I want a new cardigan, I just buy one. Because I am lazy and have no skills. But you, lady, should keep trying! I’m impressed at your efforts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

