#realmamalife | Mother’s Day 2013

DSC_0136-ag

DSC_0139-ag

Not only was Mother’s Day day a special day, but my entire Mother’s Day weekend.

Friday night, which also happened to be our monthly date night, Matthew and I met up with two of our best friends Adam and Em for dinner at our favorite Chinese buffet. Dinner with two adults instead of two babies: bliss. Don’t get me wrong, though. I did miss my kids. However, I was quickly reminded to be thankful for a peaceful night out after a large family came in with three small children, the middle in which who apparently loved to shriek at random times…

I was just thankful she wasn’t my kid.

Saturday, Matthew let me sleep in, then surprised me with a massive chocolate cupcake and two chocolate truffles from my favorite local bakery. We spent the evening with his mom, dad, sister, and niece and ate crock pot shredded pork barbecue cooked in root beer. Pork shoulder + root beer + crock pot. Serve with sauce on the side. Delicious. Seriously, you should give it a try, especially if you like to cook your meat in Coca-Cola.

Sunday, after a sweet Mother’s Day service at church, we met up with my mom, sister, and nephew for lunch at a local pizza buffet. Remember earlier shrieking child? That became Jackson and Elisha at said pizza buffet. Thankfully, it was one of those restaurants tailored to families and kids that plays loud music and has arcade games blaring over loud conversations, so they were just a mix to the madness. After lunch, they came to our house for photos and to let the boys burn off some energy outside. After they left, Matthew and I had an impromptu softball lesson because I will apparently be playing church softball this summer. No concrete memory of signing up for that… Here’s to hoping they don’t kick me off the team. Band kid, right here.

I did get a big Mother’s Day gift, but I’m still waiting on it… But stay tuned, “she” will get her own blog post to come.

One thought on “#realmamalife | Mother’s Day 2013

  1. Pingback: #RealMamaLife | Life with ELC | All Glorious

Leave a Reply

