5 Ways to Refashion a Men’s Button-Up Shirt

I love button-up shirts. Even as a kid, I wanted to wear them, even though in the ’90s cool kids weren’t wearing button-up shirts but baggy t-shirts and Levi’s Pipes jeans. But myself? I was wearing cotton jumpers, colored jean shorts with colored tights underneath, and tie-dyed t-shirts. Weird kid, right here.

Now that Matthew has lost 50 lbs (proud wife, right here) due to cholesterol and HBP issues, I have a slew of his L and XL long-sleeve button-up dress shirts to work with. Happy refashionista, right here.

And seeing that I don’t necessarily need 100+ button-up skirts (like this earlier refashion) I’ve been on the lookout for some different ways to refashion them. Here are my top 5 favorites:

mashupblouse
Kaitlin over at wunderbarlife inspires me on a constant basis. The girl is brilliant when it comes to refashions. I love her mash-up of a striped tee and long-sleeve button-up.

boatneck
Laura over at makeandbakesisters dubbed this boatneck blouse the “Anti-Fail Shirt Refashion.” Let’s hope it stands true to my epic reputation for tragic refashion fails.

pencilskirt
Anien over at anienessence created this super hot pencil skirt that’s at the top of my refashion list. Even though I have no job to wear a pencil skirt to…

necktietop
Kalleen at At Second Street made this neck tie top along with a matching navy blue skirt. This top was originally made for a little girl, but I’m pretty sure I’ll be making this one for myself.

And last, but certainly not least…

oxforddress
Anna at Crazy About Coral takes the cake for me. She made this dress from TWO button-up shirts. Impressive, right? Yes. Impressive, indeed.

Okay, now that I’m inspired, back to work on the button-up tunic I’ve been working on since March.

14 thoughts on “5 Ways to Refashion a Men’s Button-Up Shirt

  1. Pingback: DIY: Red shirt refashion « Musical Butterfly

  2. celastrina

    Love these ideas – especially the first one, I never would have thought to have it button up in the back! Did you end up trying out one of them?

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Refashioning a Skirt from a Shirt | Upcycled Fashionista

  4. diaryofamadmama

    Great post! Thanks for sharing this Tara! My husband recently lost a lot of weight also, and passed on a bunch of men’s shirts to me! I will definitely be pinning your post for future reference! :) And I’ve discovered some new blogs in the process! Can’t wait to see what you end up doing with your shirt refashions! :)
    ~Jen

    Reply
  5. Pingback: {Refashion} Dress Mash-Up | All Glorious

Leave a Reply

