When We’re Lost in the Mystery…

Okay, so I’m not one for super cheesy Christian worship songs, but yesterday while running errands I heard this song for the 108874x but truly listened to and heard the lyrics this time:

From where I’m standing
Lord, it’s so hard for me to see
Where this is  going
And where You’re leading me

I wish I knew how
All my fears  and all my questions
Are going to play out
In a world I can’t  control

When I’m lost in the mystery
To You my future is a  memory

‘Cause You’re already there
You’re already there
Standing at  the end of my life
Waiting on the other side
And You’re already  there
You’re already there

From where You’re standing
Lord, You see  a grand design
That You imagined
When You breathed me into life

And  all the chaos
Comes together in Your hands
Like a masterpiece
Of Your picture perfect  plan

When I’m lost in the mystery
To You my future is a  memory

One day I’ll stand before You
And look back on the life I’ve  lived
I can’t wait to enjoy the view
And see how all the pieces  fit

One day I’ll stand before You
And look back on the life I’ve  lived
‘Cause You’re already there
You’re already there

When I’m  lost in the mystery
To You my future is a memory
‘Cause You’re already  there
You’re already there

Standing at the end of my life
Waiting  on the other side
And You’re already there
You’re already there.

Already There, by Casting Crowns

Maybe it’s because so many friends of mine, friends with spinal complications at far too young an age, friends with a 5-month-old daughter with an aortic aneurysm burst, friends with pre-eclampsia at 30-weeks, friends with adult children taking full advantage of them, friends who have recently found out their 3-week-old son has a gene for cystic fibrosis and possible hearing problems. Not only that, but our church was broken into this week. A CHURCH. MY CHURCH. My place of sanctuary… of worship and connection with my Abba Father.

Not only my small world has been effected, though. Bombings. Shootings. War. Tornadoes. Drugs. Mental Illness. And that only skims the surface. Does anyone else just want to scream and ask what the heck is going on?! WHY?!

But there is a reason… A grand design of beautiful and magnificent proportions, so big that our small minds can in no way wrap around it.

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. -Jeremiah 29:11 ESV

And to make things more confusing and complicated, there’s hope in it all. Hope that no matter what happens in this crazy grand design that there is always rescue available. It may not come as we expect, but there is always, and will always be rescue available in our holy Savior Jesus Christ.

Oh, how abundant is your goodness,
    which you have stored up for those who fear you
and worked for those who take refuge in you,
    in the sight of the children of mankind!
In the cover of your presence you hide them
    from the plots of men;
you store them in your shelter
    from the strife of tongues. -Psalm 31:19-20 ESV

For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. -Romans 8:38-39 ESV

4 thoughts on “When We’re Lost in the Mystery…

  1. Amy P Boyd

    Tara, this is beautiful. So many times I do want to scream WHY?? Then give up. Praise God He is faithful to send me comfort from places unexpected ( like a new blog friend ).

    Reply
  2. Beth Anne Cochran

    Beautiful, Tara! I needed a reminder like this in a world that seems to be spiraling downhill so quickly, and in situations of my own that seem so overwhelming. But you are so right – God is in it, and when we look back, there are so many tough times He has used to chisel a stunning masterpiece – a replica of Christ (we can never achieve Christ’s perfect characteristics, but we are to strive for it). And I have to think, if these tough times weren’t in my life, where would I be spiritually? I don’t think I would be near the person through Christ that I am today. I know you can say the same thing – I’ve seen you use terrible circumstances to bring glory to God! Thank you for sharing this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

