{Refashion} Dress Mash-Up

If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you know I have a slight reputation for failing a lot of refashions. These two shirts were no different. Two different projects, two different failures. Sadly, one actually happened the same day as this Pinterest fail happened. It was a bad day for refashioning.

However, Tuesday night a refashion revelation of sorts came to me. Why not try to mesh them together into something completely new? Use the good parts, stash the bad for scraps.

Here’s what I started with:

DSC_0026-ag

The white dress shirt belonged to my Dad and the taupe shirt belonged to my BIL who passed it down to Matthew after he started losing weight. It quickly became too big for him so it got handed off to me for use in my refashion endeavors.

The white shirt failed because I took in the seams a little too tightly around the hips. The taupe shirt failed because I just couldn’t decide what else to do with it after taking it in to fit more like a dress, which turned out to be too short, then removing the collar to make it into a split-neck tunic since it felt too big and bulky for my liking. I still ended up not liking it.

I first picked the pocket off the taupe shirt, then chopped off the bottom part, like so:

DSC_0035-ag

I laid the white shirt (right side out) and pinned the bottom part of the taupe shirt (right side out, after folding and pressing the raw edge down about 1/2 inch) to the waist of the white shirt, like so:

DSC_0042-ag

See where this is going?

After pinning the bottom part in place, I sewed them together. Then another hiccup. I tried the dress on and the bottom part ended up being too tight around my hips. Thanks, kids. So I removed the side seams of the bottom part and sewed “triangles” to widen the bottom.

DSC_0076-ag

aaaaaaaaaaaaand… SUCCESS!

DSC_0069-ag3

Relief and joy are both understatements for me at this point when I look back at this dress. I love it. It really came out better than I expected, at however, much more frustration than I really wanted. A small price to pay, though, for the life of an amateur refashionista. Small learning strides made and a pretty new dress I couldn’t have even pulled off making just a few months ago. This is where I cheer “yay, me!” for myself. Please feel free to join me, if the urge strikes you.

Oh, and TAKE THAT! you miserable refashion failures. I win. The end.

19 thoughts on “{Refashion} Dress Mash-Up

      1. restored159

        I love to watch each endeavor! So very smart. I’ve been recycling everything from giant peanut cans turned to a art-brush holder (thanks to the chunk of styrofoam from a delivered item as the interior base) to large plastic almond “jars” used for every trinket I can think of. My all-time favorite so far has been the altoids boxes turned on their ends and labeled with my label-maker to hold bobby pins, safety pins, etc. Of course, some things I just had to leave out of IKEA with (I sincerely don’t mind leaving IKEA with that large blue bag packed full and having spent less than $30 and a head full of ideas.
        Speaking of ideas, keep them coming!

  1. Pingback: {Refashion} Thrifted Airplane Dress | All Glorious

  2. diaryofamadmama

    If at first you don’t succeed…
    Love this! And I didn’t know those were called gussets either! I’m loving being a part of the sewing/refashioning/blogging community! It’s so cool to learn from others. :)
    Great dress! It looks adorable on you!
    ~Jen

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Pinned it/Tried it/Loved it | Applique with Sewing Machine | All Glorious

  4. Jill

    Thank you for sharing your refashion fail. Some of my project don’t seem to turn out like I envision either. But we keep trying. I actually like the way this turned out. It’s a great combination, and it gives me another idea for my refashion fails!!

    Reply
  5. Nora

    I really like the idea and want to try it, but was wondering where you found the fabric you used for the. Keep up the good work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

