{Refashion} Lavender-Mint Dress

As most of my refashions have come about, I picked up this dress at a local thrift store with the specific purpose of refashioning it. If you can’t tell on Susan, it’s about two sizes too big.

DSC_0005 (2)-ag

I just couldn’t pass up that print though and the potential I had in mind for recreating it. I started by turning the dress inside-out on my dress form to take in the sides. Yes, I did pin the two layers together and took them in with one single stitch. Jilly did it, so can I.

DSC_0006-ag

As you can tell, even after taking it in the sides were a still a bit too “billowy” for my liking. The inner layer fit perfectly, but the outer layer still wanted to hang loose (no pun intended).

DSC_0014-ag

To further take in the outer layer, I pinned the two layers together on the dress form at the outer arm hole to keep the sleeve from shifting. Then I pulled the excess fabric of the outside layer inside the v-neck and pinned to create a more fitted shape.

DSC_0017-ag

I stitched the new v-neck down, then pulled the dress wrong-side-out again to trim up the bottom layer. I made sure to pull out the outer layer away from the bottom layer to prevent any possible snips in the fabric.

DSC_0030-2

Using the extra fabric from the bottom layer, I constructed a wider lining across each side of the v-neck, pinned it in place, stitched it down, and trimmed off the excess material.

DSC_0022-ag

I’m not too overly thrilled about the final outcome, but it’s 100% better than before. At least it’s wearable now. I do love the skirt portion of the dress with the higher inner layer. I tried googling what this type of dress this is called, but no luck…

DSC_0036-ag

Oh, and I’m sporting two new pieces of jewelry, scored through Sassy Steals and Very Jane. I’ve never been a big fan of chunky bracelets before, but once I started seeing these classic chunky chains around the blogosphere, I knew I had to get one for myself. And, yes, I love it. I found the earrings were so much prettier once I put them on. I can see myself wearing both of these pieces quite often.

DzSC_0018 (24)-ag
sunburst filigree earrings in cream
gold classic link bracelet by MidnightGirls

14 thoughts on “{Refashion} Lavender-Mint Dress

  1. reganking2013

    I like the outcome! Actually, I think I’m so in love with the fabric that I’d like any way it was worn – it’s so feminine without being girly and light and summery – love it!!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Wearing My Steals #2 | All Glorious

Leave a Reply

