{Refashion} Shirred Maxi Dress

My inspiration for this dress came from SoCo Vintage’s Stripe It Lucky dress. I liked how the top of the skirt had a bit of shirring and since I had this yellow dress in my refashion stash, I decided to give it a try. (I ended up swapping out this navy tank for a different printed tank you’ll see further down):

DSC_0005-ag

I bought the strapless shirred maxi dress for a swimsuit cover-up last summer when I was pregnant with Shiloh. Much to my dismay, a bright yellow dress and very pregnant belly wasn’t a pretty combination. Suffice it to say I looked as though I was trying to compete with the sun.

First, I cut off the top shirred part except for the last line:

DSC_0011-ag

Then I took in the sides of the skirt a good bit to fit my now post-pregnancy hips. I literally took in probably a foot all together, or at least it seemed that way. All my pregnancy weight went straight to my hips. Beautiful baby belly sans stretch marks but definitely can’t say the same about my hip area.

Once the waist of the skirt matched the waist of my tank top, I pinned them together along the natural waist line of the tank and sewed them together along the shirring line:

DSC_0015-ag

The neckline of the tank was a little too low for comfort, so I pinned up the straps about an inch and sewed them together, which made the waist of the skirt rise a little above the natural waist where I actually wanted it to fall.

How do you like the end result?

DSC_0036-ag

It’s weird seeing the photos because the length of the dress doesn’t seem as long as it looks. I can walk very easily without having to pull up the dress away from my feet. Maybe it’s the jersey stretch material? Either way, I love it and cannot wait to wear it to PCB this year, which happens to be only TWO weeks away! Much more toned down and shapely than the original dress.

Hope you all have a great weekend! Matthew’s 28th birthday was yesterday and the babies and I surprised him with a little party with streamers and a “Happy Birthday” banner and cooked him homemade barbecue chicken pizza and no-bake cheesecake for supper.

(Matthew’s crappy cellphone photo)

28th pizza

Tomorrow we’re continuing the celebration, both his and his mom’s birthday, with more food and fun grilling steaks and hanging out. Can’t have fun without food or food without fun!

9 thoughts on “{Refashion} Shirred Maxi Dress

  1. offsquare

    I love that maxi skirt! I’ve been wanting to make one for a while but didn’t know whether to go for jersey knit fabric or chiffon. Might have to go knit fabric ’cause this looks so awesome and drapey. Love it!

    Reply
  2. Olivia Grace

    I seriously am so obsessed with your blog, girl! You always post some of the greatest stuff! I’m posting on Fashion Week right now since it’s going on in my city (STL), so feel free to follow me back to keep posted with that now too! Otherwise, keep blogging great stuff!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

