{DIY} Refashioned Toddler Fox Costume

I had originally planned for Elisha to dress up as a monster truck for Halloween this year. But in traditional Elisha fashion, he changes favorite things every week and his current “thing” is the latest YouTube viral video What Does the Fox Say?

Seriously. My almost three-year-old is obsessed with this song and video. He’s even learned a few of the dance moves and lyrics, such as “wa-pa-pa-pa-pa-pa-pow!” and “hatee-hatee-hatee-ho!” all while trying to levitate. So I couldn’t resist changing his costume to a fox. Luckily, I had recently bought him an orange long-sleeve t-shirt from Old Navy a few weeks ago that would work perfectly. For the rest of the costume I used an old t-shirt passed off to me from my brother-in-law and a cheap white hand towel from Wal-Mart.

DSC_0004-ag

DSC_0009-ag

I started by cutting off the sleeves and all the seams (I forgot about the bottom hem before taking this picture), as well as the print on the back of the shirt to get as much solid orange material as I could get.

DSC_0017-1

DSC_0022-ag

Next, I laid out a pair of sweatpants of Elisha’s to use as my pants pattern, using this basic pants pattern (here). The brown pants are a little too long for him but fit him great in the waist, so the shortened length of the t-shirt ended up a perfect length for him once they were done.

DSC_0026-ag

DSC_0028-ag

DSC_0029-ag

For the white fur, I used the t-shirt as a guide for the length and the neckhole to gauge how big to cut out the neckhole of the fur.

DSC_0032-ag

Then I trimmed up the sides and rounded the edges of the fur. I ended up having to trim the sides down a few times. Once I got it right, I used safety pins to pin down the fur to the t-shirt and tried it on Elisha.

DSC_0034-ag

He liked it. :)

DSC_0037-ag

For the ears I cut off two triangles from cardboard (the corners off a diaper box) and glued triangle scraps from the pants material and triangle scraps from the towel onto the cardboard triangles.

DSC_0040-ag

Then I hot glued the ears onto a plastic headband I bought a pack of at the dollar store. I also trimmed up the edges of the ears a bit to even them out.

P.S. Don’t you like my smudgy glass table top? A little #RealMamaLife for you there.

DSC_0042-ag

Last, to make the tail, I used more of the pants material to cut out two longer length triangles and sewed the two longer edges together, leaving the shorter top edge of the tail open to stuff with material scraps from my scraps stash. Once it was stuffed, I sewed the top down onto the inside of the pants on the back.

DSC_0043-ag

Then cut two more triangles from the towel to hot glue on for the white fur on the tip of the tail.

Stay tuned for the next post to see Elisha wearing his new fox costume, as well as Shiloh in her ghost costume!

Are you following All Glorious on Bloglovin’? If not, follow here: Follow on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “{DIY} Refashioned Toddler Fox Costume

  1. diaryofamadmama

    Oh my gosh! So cute! Elisha is so adorable and that’s hilarious that he likes that song! I hated it at first, but now I’m starting to think it’s funny.
    Thanks so much for the linky love! :)
    Happy Halloween!
    ~Jen

    Reply
    1. taraallglorious Post author

      Same here. I think it’s just one of those things that has to grow on you. We watched it about five times before we went trick-or-treating last night to get him hyped up. :)

      Reply
      1. diaryofamadmama

        Aww, that’s so funny. Hopefully the weather was better for you. It’s been really rainy here for the last few days, although the temperature was a bit warmer for Halloween than it had been, so at least that was nice. I’d rather be damp than chilly. lol

Leave a Reply

